NC STATE

STUDENT MEDIA

AWARDS ANNOUNCED IN 2016-2017

NC STATE DIVISION OF ACADEMIC AND STUDENT AFFAIRS AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE

• Doug Flowers, finalist

NC STATE EBONY HARLEM AWARDS

• Nubian Message, Stephanie Tate, Literary Talent Award

CHANCELLOR'S CREATING COMMUNITY AWARDS

• Nubian Message, Outstanding Student Organization

ASSOCIATED COLLEGIATE PRESS

- Technician, seventh place, Best of Show, Special Edition at ACP College Media Convention 2016
- Technician. fifth place, Best of Show, Four-year Daily, ACP COllege Media Convention 2016
- Agromeck 2016, second place, Yearbook 300+ pages, ACP College Media Convention 2016
- Windhover 2016, seventh place, Literary Magazine, ACP College Media Convention 2016
- Agromeck 2015, Pacemaker, ACP College Media Convention 2016
- Agromeck 2016, Pacemaker Finalist, ACP College Media Convention 2016

COLUMBIA SCHOLASTIC PRESS ASSOCIATION

Gold Circle — Agromeck 2016

- Honorable Mention, Feature Writing: Student Life, Kaitlin Montgomery
- Second place, Sports Feature Writing, Kaitlin Montogomery
- Second place, Organization or Greek Feature, Eliza Eisenhardt
- Second place, End Sheets, Molly Donovan
- First place, Sports Action Photo, Kai McNeil
- Second place, Sports Feature Photo, Ben Salama
- First place, Photo Portfolio, Kai McNail
- Honorable Mention, Informational Graphics, Amanda Pearlswig
- Second place, Design Portfolio, Molly Donovan
- Second place, Organization or Greeks Spread, Chloe Calloway
- Third place, Information Graphic Portfolio, Molly Donovan
- Gold Crown Award, Agromeck 2015

NORTH CAROLINA COLLEGE MEDIA ASSOCIATION

- · Agromeck 2016, first place, Best of Show
- Agromeck 2016, first place, Student Life Copy, Kaitlin Montgomery
- Agromeck 2016, second place, Student Life Copy, Molly Donovan
- Agromeck 2016, honorable ention, Student Life Copy, Lauren Kruchten
- Agromeck 2016, first place, Sports Copy, Kai McNeil
- Agromeck 2016, second place, Sports Copy, Kaitlin Montgomery

- Agromeck 2016, first place, Photography, Ben Salama
- Agromeck 2016, second place, Photography, Ryan Perry
- Agromeck 2016, first place, Inside Spread Design, Molly Donovan
- Agromeck 2016, honorable mention, Inside Spread Design, Erica Holmsen
- Nubian Message, second place, News Writing, "Screenshot scandal escalates racial tension at NC State" by Stephanie Tate, Anahzsa Jones, Kenton Gibbs and Keilah Davis
- Nubian Message, third place, Illustration/Graphic, "Prison Strike Cover" by Qasima Wideman
- Nubian Message, honorable mention, Features Writing, "Blackademics" by Keilah Davis
- Nubian Message, honorable mention, Illustration/Graphic, "Vote Cover" by Allona Wilkerson
- Technician, second place, Best of Show Newspaper
- Technician, second place, Best of Show Online News
- Technician, first place, Single- or Two-Page Design, "Page 1, Nov. 17, 2016" by Nick Gregory and Mikhail Vasquez
- Technician, first place, Illustration/Graphic, "Move-in issue cover" by Mikhail Vasquez
- Technician, second place, Cartoon, "Poorly Illustrated: A-hole" by Samantha White
- Technician, third place, Sports Writing, "Kozeniesky shoots for gold at 2016 Rio Olympics" by David Kehrli
- Technician, third place, Opinion Writing, "Standing strong in the face of Trump as a Latinx student" by Aaron Sanchez
- Technician, honorable mention, Cartoon, "I don't even know: Natural environment" by Nick Weaver
- Technician, honorable mention, Multimedia Package, "N.C. State Blackout" by Anna Matthews, Kai Anthony and Adam Schmidt
- Technician, honorable mention, News Writing, "Woodson: NCSU can't punish private racism" by Gavin Stone and Sam Messick
- Technician, honorable mention, Features Writing, "Students find support in social work" by Maddy Bonnabeaux
- Technician, honorable mention, Opinion Writing, "Coming clean: living life drug-free" by David Kehrli
- Windhover, honorable mention, Photography/Art, Tyler Hayes
- Windhover, honorable mention, Two-Page Spread, Annalise Boerse and Katelyn Auger

COLLEGE MEDIA ASSOCIATION

Pinnacle Awards

- Agromeck 2016, second place, Best Four-Year College Yearbook
- · Agromeck 2016, second place, Best Sports Spread
- WKNC, first place, best radio special event coverage, Mirtha Donastorg and Ian Grice
- Technician, honorable mention, best newspaper front page design, Devan Feeney

NC STATE

STUDENT MEDIA

2016-2017 AWARDS, CONTINUED

SOCIETY FOR COLLEGIATE JOURNALISTS

Society for Collegiate Journalists Annual Contest

- Agromeck, first place, Overall Excellence
- Agromeck, first place, Coverage of the Year: 12 months on campus the Terry Van Heyden Award
- Agromeck, first place, Concept of the Yearbook
- Agromeck, first place, Reporting in Words
- · Agromeck, first place, Photography
- · Agromeck, first place, Display
- Agromeck, first place, individual yearbook writing, "A day with the howling cows" by Lauren Kruchten
- Agromeck, second place, individual yearbook writing, "Alternative Service Break" by Lauren Kruchten
- Agromeck, second place, yearbook photography, "Howling Cow calf photo" by Lauren Kruchten
- Technician, third place, Overall Excellence
- Technician, honorable mention, individual column or commentary writing, "Democracy, pick up a ballot and follow me," Jonathan Carter
- Technician, second place, individual feature writing, "WKNC DJ Uncle Paul reads inmates letters, takes their music requests," Samuel Griffin
- Windhover, Outstanding Literary Magazine

COLLEGE BROADCASTERS, INC.

National Student Production Awards

• WKNC, Marissa Jerden, second place, best audio podcast

NC STATE STUDENT LEADERSHIP, ENGAGEMENT AND DEVELOPMENT AWARDS

Wolfpack Leadership Challenge Awards

- "Oak City Move" (Phian Tran, Sara Awad and Kaanchee Gandhi, WKNC), winner, Challenge the Process
- Yvonne Chazal (WKNC), winner, Encourage the Heart

Student Organization Outstanding Achivement Awards

- Jamie Lynn Gilbert, winner, outstanding student organization adviser
- Ellen Meder, finalist, outstanding student organization adviser
- WKNC, finalist, outstanding internet & social media presence

INDEPENDENT WEEKLY BEST OF THE TRIANGLE 2016

- WKNC, finalist, best local radio station
- WKNC, Miriam Tolbert, finalist, best local radio personality