Designer, reporter named finalists in national competition

Page 1 design by Susannah Brinkley, Jan. 24, 2008

The Associated Collegiate Press named two students at North Carolina State University as finalists in that organization's individual awards.

ACP named Clark Leonard, a May 2008 graduate and then sports editor of the Technician, as a finalist for sports story and Susannah Brinkley as a finalist for news page/spread design. Brinkley is a sophomore in graphic design, co-design editor of the Technician and a Technician grant recipient.

This marks the first time in recent history that a student from North Carolina State University has been named a finalist for a national writing award.

WKNC DJs named finalists in national competition

DJs with Robert Earl Keen

WKNC's Caitlin Cauley (left) and Stephen McCreery (right) are finalists for Best DJ for their show "Americana, Blues and Co." They interviewed guitarist Robert Earl Keen (center) in March.

Student staff members working for WKNC 88.1 FM have been named a finalist for two College Broadcasters National Student Production Awards. The station is recognized by College Broadcasters, Inc. in the Best DJ and Best Newscast categories.

WKNC receives Indies Arts Award

Steve Salevan, local music director for WKNC 88.1 FM, was honored as one of six recipients of The Independent Weekly’s annual Indies Arts Award. According to the July 16 edition of The Independent Weekly, “All of our honorees devote a significant portion of their energies—and their mission—to bringing the arts to our community.”

On the air as “DJ Stevo,” Salevan has served as WKNC’s local music director since 2005.

Wilson honored for service to scholastic journalism

CHAPEL HILL – Bradley Wilson, coordinator of student media advising at N.C. State University, has been awarded the Kay Phillips Distinguished Service Award from the North Carolina Scholastic Media Association.

The award, named in honor of the first full-time director of the association, recognizes two individuals each year who have supported the state’s scholastic journalism association and its mission. Robin Sawyer, journalism teacher at First Flight High and former Dow Jones National High School Journalism Teacher of the Year, also received the 2008 Kay Phillips Award.


Subscribe to Student Media at NC State RSS