Media win SCJ excellence awards

The national Society for Collegiate Journalists has announced the winners of its annual publications and broadcasting contest, with Agromeck, Technician and WKNC among the honorees. SCJ recognizes the top submissions for yearbook, newspaper, broadcasting, magazine and online media along with offering awards for individual writing and imaging and overall excellence.

Agromeck yearbook swept all six categories, taking first place in coverage of the year, concept of the book, reporting in words, photography and display and the overall excellence award for large school yearbook. The 2011 Agromeck, edited by Susannah Brinkley, has already won a number of awards from the Columbia Scholastic Press Association, Associated Collegiate Press, College Media Association and North Carolina College Media Association., the website for WKNC 88.1 FM, received a first place overall excellence award for companion broadcast website. Technician was also honored with a third place overall excellence award for newspapers published more than weekly. Six students received eight individual awards. All entries were published in the 2011 calendar year. 

Sports columns

  • second place, Jeniece Jamison, Technician
  • honorable mention, Kate Shefte, Technician

Sports photographySociety for Collegiate Journalists logo

  • first place, Luis Zapata, Technician
  • second place, Alex Sanchez, Technician
  • third place, Brent Kitchen, Technician

News photography

  • first place, Luis Zapata, Technician

Feature photography

  • second place, Jordan Moore, Technician
  • third place, Jordan Moore, Technician

The N.C. State chapter of the Society for Collegiate Journalists includes 14 active members under adviser Martha Collins.