Media win SCJ awards

The national Society for Collegiate Journalists announced results of the individual and media winners in that organization’s national contest. NCSU media outlets, including the Technician, Agromeck and WKNC had individuals who received awards. The yearbook received the top award for overall excellence. won overall excellence for companion website. Thirteen NCSU students won individual awards.

To be eligible to enter the contest, students had to be members of the Society for Collegiate Journalists meaning they had to have at least a 3.0 grade point average.

Yearbook Overall Excellence

Enrollment more than 7,000
First place: N.C. State University Agromeck

Companion Broadcast Website Overall Excellence
Second place:

Newspaper Photo Essay
Third place: Luis Zapata, “Through a Tiny Lens,” 09/27/2010

Newspaper News Stories
Honorable mention: Kate Shefte. “Barrell Monster Creator,” 04/26/2010

Newspaper Columns/Commentary
Second place: Russell Witham
Third place: Jessica Neville

Newspaper Sports News
First place: Kate Shelte

Newspaper Sports Features
Second place: Brent Kitchen, “Man of STIHL,” 04/13/2010

Sports Columns
Third place: Kate Shefte

News Photography
Second place: Luis Zapata

Feature Photography
Second place: Luis Zapata
Honorable Mention: Luis Zapata
Honorable Mention: David Mabe, “Rafting on Recyclables,” 04/27/2010

Sports Photography
First place: Brent Kitchen, “CJ Leslie Yelling,” 11/10/2010

Graphic Illustration
Second place: Susannah Brinkley

Radio Commercial, Promotion, Public Announcement
Second place: WKNC