North Carolina awards

Media outlets from Duke University, Elon University, North Carolina State University, the University of North Carolina - Charlotte, the University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill, Western Carolina University and Winston-Salem State University took home awards at the national convention of the College Media Advisers, Associated Collegiate Press and College Broadcasters in Louisville, Kentucky, Oct. 28-31.

WKNC students named finalist for national awards

Mike Alston and Kelly Reid, on the air as DJ Mick and Mz. Kelly, are one of four finalists in the Best DJ category. Alston, who graduated in May, served as the station’s general manager for the 2009-2010 academic year. Reid earned her second bachelor's in chemistry in August 2010 while she worked as the station’s head music director. Reid was previously named a finalist for Best Radio DJ in Independent Weekly’s 2009 Best in the Triangle reader’s poll.

Wolf TV clip on ABC's 'Nightline'

silly band rap

ABC Nightline's "Sign of the Times" feature on Silly Bandz last week included WolfTV's "Silly Bandz Gangster Rap" among its YouTube tributes. The video was produced by Wolf TV Station Manager Caleb Van Voorhis. "I just produced the video for fun," Van Voorhis said. "I never knew it was going to blow up the way that it did. My little sister had a lot of Silly Bandz and I thought they were interesting so I made a song about them."

SCJ active in Banned Books Week

Banned Books WeekIn recognition of Banned Books Week, an annual event celebrating the open access to information and the importance of the First Amendment in our society, the N.C. State University Chapter of the Society for Collegiate Journalists will be reading a selection of banned books Monday, Sept. 27, and Wednesday, Sept.


Subscribe to Student Media at N.C. State RSS