Yearbook, magazine receive national recognition

2010 AgromeckThe Agromeck yearbook (edited by Bryant Robbins and Michele Chandler) and Windhover literary and arts magazine (edited by Helen Dear) both received Crown awards and were the only North Carolina college media outlets named as finalists for the highest national award.

Announced at the awards ceremony in New York City March 13, the Agromeck yearbook received a Gold Crown, the highest award. The Windhover received a Silver Crown.

Survey shows increase in student audience

Efforts by student radio station WKNC 88.1 FM to increase its audience across the N.C. State campus have apparently paid off, according to a recent listener survey.

Conducted in the fall 2010 semester, the survey of approximately 300 WKNC listeners showed 56 percent were affiliated with NCSU as a current student, faculty, staff or alumnus.

NCSU students receive state-wide recognition

At the fourth-annual statewide convention of the North Carolina College Media Association 13 individual N.C. State students received awards and three media outlets placed in the Best of Show competition.

  • Individual staff members of the Technician daily newspaper received seven awards in everything from opinion writing to design. The Technician received Best of Show recognition for both the print edition and the online edition.
  • The Windhover also received Best of Show recognition, as did three other literary magazines statewide, and three students who submitted work for the magazine received recognition.
  • The Agromeck yearbook received recognition in every category and also placed in the Best of Show competition.

CLICK HERE for summaries of the sessions that the students attended.

Agromeck named finalist for second national award

2010 AgromeckThe Associated Collegiate Press named the 2010 Agromeck yearbook edited by Bryant Robbins and Michele Chandler a finalist for its top award — the Pacemaker.


Subscribe to Student Media at N.C. State RSS